The NC sex offender registry is a very useful tool for everyone that knows how to find it. It provides a lot of identifying information about sex offenders that helps the public stay safe. Sex offenders have a very high recidivism rate, so even though not every sex offender will re-offend sex offenders in general still pose a legitimate threat to the neighborhoods and greater communities they live in. Arming the people with information about potentially dangerous offenders is a great way to ensure that as few tragedies occur as possible. If you don’t know where the registry is you’re in the right place, and today we’re going to help you find it.
Locating and Accessing the North Carolina Sex Offender Registry.
The sex offender registry is a federally mandated public safety measure. Every state is required to have its own registry, and those registries must provide information on all sex offenders that are deemed to be a moderate or high-level threat to the public. Because of the classification of public safety tool, ensuring that the sex offender registries are easily accessible to the public is very important. The easiest way to make sure that the largest number of people can access the registry is to put it online, and so that’s exactly what’s been done.
The sex offender registry is available to the public twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. If you don’t know the web address you can easily find the registry by conducting a quick web search. If you’re in North Carolina and search using Google you should be able to just search for sex offender registry and it will pop up, otherwise, the best way to search for it is by searching for “North Carolina Sex Offender Registry.”
The website is packed full of information that you can use to help keep your family safe from sex offenders. You can search by a variety of methods and the website will pull up all sex offenders that meet the criteria. You then have access to the name, address, picture, charges, and more of the offenders that come up. You can even look at a map so you can have a visual representation of how close sex offenders are to your home.
How Long do North Carolina Sex Offenders Need to Register?
Because each state is able to set its own laws for how sex offenders are handled each state does things a little differently. In North Carolina, if an offender is a re-offender, a violent offender, or has an aggravated charge they must register for life. Otherwise, the minimum duration of the registration requirement is 10 years. All sex offenders are required to register within 10 days of the end of their sentence and also within 10 days of entering any county or change of address. In the event that an offender was charged but not sentenced, they are required to register immediately after their conviction. If the offender is found to be non-compliant the first time is a Class 3 Felony and each additional instance is a Class 1 Felony.
Find the Sex Offender Registry the Easy Way.
The sex offender registry saves lives every day and has done so ever since it was established. Making sure that the public can easily identify sex offenders that pose a potential threat to themselves and their families is incredibly important for ensuring that as many tragedies as possible are avoided. All of the sex offender laws that are in existence were passed in the hopes that they can help the public stay safe, and fortunately, in a lot of cases, they do their job.
***Registered Offenders List is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and resources to its visitors regarding registered sex offenders that live near you.